Americans Show Up

When his own countrymen shot him 5 times and left him to die, members of the US Eighth Army’s 2nd Combat Aviation Brigade came onto the scene. They did not know who their patient was, just that he was going to die without their assistance.

“When the injured soldier was loaded into the Black Hawk helicopter, Sgt. 1st Class Gopal Singh, on his last mission as a flight medic, said a prayer. I actually said a prayer because I saw the condition he was in,” said Singh, who is 39 and from San Antonio. The pilots could probably tell by my voice that he was in real danger of dying. It’s truly a miracle. From the time that I saw him on the aircraft, I thought he was going to die,” Singh said. “So to be able to see him make it, it’s been a good feeling for all of us as a crew.”

“He would have died,” said the Korean surgeon, if it hadn’t been for the quick action.
WASHINGTONPOST.COM

Leave a comment